South Africa — 2021

Trip Details

List of 3 items.

  • Dates

    June 1-12, 2021
  • Cost

    $4,800 (all included) or less depending on the number of participants
    Monthly payment plan available
  • Learning Objectives

    • The program offers an introduction to Southern Africa and its diverse communities, cultures geography and wilderness spaces. 
    • Students will see contrasting environments, the solitude of the bush in the Pilanesberg National Park; from the giant metropolis of Johannesburg, to the oceanside city of Cape Town which has been hailed as one of the most beautiful destinations in the world.
    • The program includes a close exploration of local culture and custom, and grapples with the history of slavery and racism in South Africa.
    • 10-12 service hours available

Tentative Itinerary

Tue, June 1

Departure from Jackson (overnight flight)

Wed, June 2

Arrive in Johannesburg; Check in at the Apollo Hotel; Orientation

Thu, June 3

Soweto day tour, including Mandela House, Hector Pieterson Museum, lunch with local community, and more!

Fri, June 4

Apartheid Museum; Fly to Cape Town; Check-in at Chartfield Guest House

Sat, June 5

isiXhosa Language & Culture Lesson; Kalk Bay Walkabout, Gumboot Dancing

Sun, June 6

Cape Town city orientation incl The Castle of Good Hope, Slave Lodge, Company Gardens, Eastern Food Bazaar, Table Mountain Cableway

Mon, June 7

Robben Island, Kirstenbosch Botanical Gardens; Dinner and Talk with former political prisoner, Lionel Davis

Tue, June 8

Half day community-based service learning; District Six Museum, Cape Malay Cooking Experience

Wed, June 9

Half day community-based service learning; Macassar Pottery social justice workshop, incl lunch

Thu, June 10

Muizenberg High School Interaction; Boulders Penguin Colony; Farewell dinner and djembe drumming at GOLD restaurant.

Fri, June 11

Transfer to Aquila Private Game Reserve; Afternoon Game Drive, Star Gazing

Sat, June 12

Early Morning game drive; Final Reflections; Airport Transfer; Overnight flight to Amsterdam

Sun, June 13

Transatlantic flight to Atlanta, and then to Jackson, MS

South Campus | PK-3 to Grade 4

4120 Old Canton Road | Jackson, Mississippi 39216
Tel 601.987.9300 | Fax 601.987.9324

North Campus | Grades 5 to 12

370 Old Agency Road | Ridgeland, Mississippi 39157
Tel 601.853.6000 | Fax 601.853.6001